PC Doctor June 19, 2015

Have your computer questions answered here! Search the PC Doctor archive or submit a question of your own at info@athollibrary.org

Dear PC Doctor:
             
        When I use my computer to look at the internet, I noticed that Chrome has created a “person” for me, even though I didn’t log in to a google account.  There’s a silhouette of a person’s head and shoulders at the top of my screen, and when I click on that, it says “YOU.”  This feels creepy.  Can I delete that “person” to preserve my privacy? 
           
        Thanks, George
 
Dear George:
           
        The short answer is yes, you can delete that “person.”  The way to do it is to click on the three horizontal lines at the top right of your Chrome screen.  Choose “Settings.”  Scroll down to the section called “People.”  Click on the box showing the “person” you want to delete.  Click the “x” in the box.  You will get a message that reads:  “Are you sure you want to remove "Person" and all associated Chrome data from this computer?  This cannot be undone.”  Stop for a minute.  This will delete your stored passwords and bookmarks, too.  If you’re sure you want to do this, go ahead.
           
       Another option, which allows you to bookmark sites and keep them between browsing sessions, is to clear your history each time.  To do that, you start the same as above, but choose “History” instead of “Settings.”  Click the button near the top that says “Clear browsing data.”  You can choose how far back you want to clear your browsing history.  So, you have choices.
 
Until next time … Happy Computing!
 
      PC Doctor
 
        
     

Posted: to Athol Library News on Fri, Jun 19, 2015
Updated: Fri, Jun 19, 2015

Login