PC Doctor July 10, 2015

Have your computer questions answered here! Search the PC Doctor archive or submit a question of your own at info@athollibrary.org

Dear PC Doctor:
          
          I accidentally typed my password in the user name box when I was signing in to Facebook.  Now, anyone who uses that computer can see my password if they type the first letter.  I don’t know if anyone will figure out that’s my password, but I don’t want them to!  How can I make that go away?  Just deleting it has not worked.
           
          Thanks, Private
 
Dear Private:
           
          You can fix this by turning off auto complete in your browser.
             If you are using Chrome, open the browser and click on the three horizontal bars on the upper right of your screen.  Choose “Settings.”  Type the word “auto” in the search box.  Under the “Passwords and forms” heading, you will see a check box next to the words “Enable Autofill to fill out web forms in a single click.”  Uncheck that box. 
            If you use Firefox and don't want it to save what you've entered into form fields, you can turn off the auto form fill feature.  At the top of the Firefox window, click on the Firefox button and then select “Options.”  Select “Privacy.”  In the drop-down menu next to “Firefox will:”, choose “Use custom settings for history.”  Remove the check mark next to “Remember search and form history.” Click “OK” to close the Options window.  Note:  Disabling form history also prevents Firefox from storing search history for the Search bar in the Navigation Toolbar.
            If you are using Internet Explorer, click Tools in the upper right-hand corner.  Select “Internet Options” from the dropdown menu.  Under the “Content” tab, in the “Autocomplete” section, click the “Settings” button.  Within this window, you can select the fields in which you'd like to store Autocomplete data by using the checkboxes.  Click on “User names and passwords on forms.”  Click “OK.” 
           
         Now, when you go back to Facebook, your webmail, or any other site at which you enter a user name or password, no user names or passwords should be stored.  If you want to turn this feature back on, you may do so by reversing the process.  It will start fresh, saving only the information you enter from that point forward.
Until next time …Happy Computing!
           PC Doctor

Posted: to Athol Library News on Thu, Jul 9, 2015
Updated: Thu, Jul 9, 2015

Login