PC Doctor September 21, 2010

Have your computer questions answered here! Search the PC Doctor archive or submit a question of your own at info@athollibrary.org

Dear PC Doctor:

            I don’t like the default account picture on my new computer (which is Windows 7).  I know it’s not such a big deal but is there any way to change that?  I like your column by the way, every week I learn something!

            Pete

 

Dear Pete:

            Yes it’s pretty easy to change.  Just go to the Start Orb and select Control Panel.  Find User Accounts and Family Safety then Change Your Account Picture.  You will be presented with a variety of pictures so just find the one that pleases you and click Change Picture. 

            Now if you still don’t like any of the choices, just click the Browse for More Pictures button and look on your own hard drive for one of your own pictures to use.

            PC Doctor


 

Dear PC Doctor:

            I just got a Windows 7 computer and unlike my old one this one is asking me for a password every time I turn it on and if the screen saver goes on.  Since I am at home and the only one who uses the computer, is there any way that I could turn that off?

            Lazy

 

Dear Lazy:

            Sure there is!  This is close to the first question this week.  Go to the Start Orb, then Control Panel, choose User Accounts and Family Safety, then User Accounts and finally ‘make changes to your user accounts’.  You must enter your current password to continue on and then click on Remove Password.  Close out and reboot your computer and you should not to enter your password again.

            PC Doctor


 

Dear PC Doctor:

            I am still getting used to my new computer and yesterday I got an unpleasant surprise when I accidentally deleted a file and went to the Recycle Bin to retrieve it and it wasn’t there.  I couldn’t believe it so I made up a file to try it again and see if it did the same thing.  It did!  I don’t want to worry about this so do you have some kind of tip for me?

            Lester

 

Dear Lester:

            It’s just a setting in the Recycle Bin.  Right click on the icon for the Recycle Bin and simply uncheck the line that says ‘do not move files to the Recycle Bin.  Remove files immediately when deleted’.  Click the OK button and you should not have this problem again.

            PC Doctor

 

Until next time… happy computing!

Posted: to Athol Library News on Tue, Sep 21, 2010
Updated: Tue, Sep 21, 2010

Login