PC Doctor September 21, 2020

Have your computer questions answered here! Search the PC Doctor archive or submit a question of your own at info@athollibrary.org

Dear PC Doctor:

One of my cousins’ Facebook account got breached and it keeps sending out these group messages that are clearly not from him. There’s a weird video clip and I’m afraid it’s going to do something bad to my device. How do I get rid of the message chain?


Thanks,

Jacqui


Dear Jacqui:

If you are using Facebook on your computer, open the group message (but don’t click on the suspect video). At the top of the message window, click down-arrow where you see the names of the people included in the group. You’ll get a pop-out menu. You have two choices: You can click Leave group or you can click Delete conversation. Either one will result in you receiving no further notifications regarding this conversation and eliminates the worry that you’re going to click on something bad contained in it.

If you’re using the Messenger app, open the group conversation in Chats. Tap the names of the people in the conversation, which you’ll see near the top. Scroll down and tap Leave Group > Leave.


I hope that helps!
Until next time,
Happy computing!
PC Doctor


Editor's Note: Questions should be directed to PC Doctor, care of the Athol Public Library, info@athollibrary.org or Athol Public Library, 568 Main St., Athol, Mass. 01331, or dropped off at the library

Posted: to Athol Library News on Mon, Sep 21, 2020
Updated: Mon, Sep 21, 2020

Login